top of page

Digimon Adventure: Was It Really That Good?


From the Digimon Wikia

I’ll preface this by saying I watched Digimon as a kid, but I never sat down and watched every single episode of every single season. So because I’m now 21 and am filled with self-hatred, I’ll be watching every single episode of every single episode of Digimon before the final Tri movie launches in American theaters.

I’m watching every episode subbed, so some of what I saw and understood from episodes may be slightly different from what you watched if you watched the dub.

I watched Digimon Tri before engaging in this project, so there may be a few notes scattered throughout of my reactions and how I compared the episodes to Tri. These reviews were all written as I watched each episode. I tried to keep them to one sentence, but that obviously didn’t work out. Check the bottom of this article for my overall review.

Episode 1

  • Man this opening is a bop, I love that they spell Joe’s name differently in subs (Jyou), remind me to look up later what the ACTUAL spelling of this kids name is.

  • THE TECHNOLOGY IS SO OUTDATED I LOVE THIS?

  • The kids thought Digivices were pagers are you kIDDING ME IM SO OLD.

  • Five minutes. That’s what we got for set up.

  • Joe being scared of his Digimon is my favorite thing ever, because same.

  • WHAT IS WITH TOKOMONS TEETH

Episode 2

  • The fish. What the heck is up with the fish.

  • A payphone to tell them info makes it clear how outdated this show has become. But it makes it feel even more nostalgic watching it.

Episode 3

  • The color palette of this show is both absolutely beautiful and absolutely horrendous at the exact same time, but I love the watercolor looking backgrounds.

Episode 4

  • You say only Digimon, but Joe’s Digimon summons fish. Do fish not count as animals in any fictional world?

Episode 5

  • I would live in the digital world forever if it meant my electronics charged without cords and I had a friend to love me forever no questions asked. I also remember watching this episode as a kid, with Koshiro and the computer programming. The amount of reused animation is outstanding but surprisingly not distracting

Episode 6

  • SPECIAL ATTACK POOP. THEY ATTACK WITH THEIR OWN POOP. ARE YOU SERIOUS.

Episode 7

  • “But we have no choice, we’re hungry” is a good summary of my life honestly. I love that they’re actually portrayed as kids! Like they all have worries that kids would have and it’s shown really well. The contrast between this and the Tri movies is crazy. Taichi and Yamato are opposites in Tri from how they were as kids.

Episode 8

  • Devimon made me think of Devilman and I don’t know if that was intentional- and the foreshadowing to Angelmon in this episode is STRONG.

Episode 9

  • He burned his pants and then they were suddenly back to normal? What???

Episode 10

  • HE’S LITERALLY A POOP. HE THROWS POOP TOO. WHY ARE THERE TWO POOP THROWING DIGIMON.

Episode 11

  • Joe is so cringe worthy sometimes...

Episode 12

  • OH MY GOD WATCHING PATAMON AND TAKERU CRY BROKE MY HEART!!!! THEY NEED HUGS!!!!!!!!

Episode 13

  • Not like they’ve been teasing Angemon in the opening/commercial cards this entire season or anything.

Episode 14

  • It was cute seeing all the side characters from this “season” pop up.

Episode 15

  • Etemon has a bulge where I never want to see a Digimon have one.

Episode 16

  • I don’t like Etemon... but the hockey music.... and that evolution. Wasn’t expecting that.

Episode 17

  • When will the kids stop falling for these dumb traps.

Episode 18

  • At beginning of episode: I sniff filler

  • At end of episode: Meh... not entirely filler.

Episode 19

  • If you die in the game you die in real life

Episode 20

  • Etemon is way too op- WHAT THE HECK WHAT THE HECK WHAT THE HECK

Episode 21

  • The animation quality just stepped up like 15 levels what thE HECK this is the episode where Digimon finally started making money. Is this the same animation style as the movie where Taichi and Hikari meet Koromon?. Is that why I like this? It’s so jarring in comparison to the rest of the episodes.

Episode 22

  • Man back to the old art style I really liked the one used in 21... TAKERU CRYING BREAKS MT HEART.

Episode 23

  • ANOTHER DIGIMON THAT THROWS POOP. Also the first episode I genuinely cried in.

Episode 24

  • MORE POOP. WHAT IS IT WITH THIS SHOW AND POOP. THEY PAY WITH POOP. WHAT.

Episode 25

  • I actually feel bad for PicoDevimon. But also all these situations could be resolved if TAICHI JUST TOLD THEM WHAT WAS GOING ON FROM THE GET GO.

  • I hate how Mimi keeps growing through these cycles of character development- she’s not selfish, then she is, then she isn’t.

Episode 26

  • POOR PICODEVIMON.... I feel really bad for him like he’s doing his best. I feel really bad for Sora too. Damn. Also what an entrance. Vamdemon dropped from a fucking coffin in the sky!! ONLY SEVEN? YAS MY GIRLS COMIN SOON

Episode 27

  • SAVE YOUR SISTER MAN YOU CAN DO IT. Also another poop Digimon.

Episode 28

  • Okay... it’s Hikari but ok

Episode 29

  • Why haven’t y’all made the connection yet we literally just mentioned her

Episode 30

  • DID THIS OLDER LADY JUST TRY AND PICK UP YAMATO THE FUCK...

Episode 31

  • This whole cat subplot is filler

Episode 32

  • So much filler... this is dragging out so much

Episode 33

  • I actually felt bad for the two little minions ;-; they were just havin fun.

Episode 34

  • Awhhh poor Tailmon.... THEYRE gonna kill Wizardmon I bet...

Episode 35

  • MIMI CALLED HER DIGIMON UGLY WHAT THE FUCK…

  • I wanna cosplay Lilimon

Episode 36

  • I love the parents honesty they’re all so well written and realistic??

Episode 37

  • THE REUNION BETWEEN TAKERU AND HIS DAD... the game of catch with her digivice is driving me insane.

  • NO WIZARDMON I LIKED HIM NOOOOOOO........ first time I cried this season. Why a cliffhanger. What the hell.

Episode 38

  • Those CG bats looked like shit... and the whole shooting them with arrows thing was weird.

Episode 39

  • This clown guy is the new villain ain’t he. I feel really bad for Chuumon even though his friend was a giant poop. Are we about to get more filler.

Episode 40

  • Man... poor Chuumon.

  • How come the first time they warp evolved they needed to be shot and the second time they can do it right from their child forms…

Episode 41

  • I get they have “more to learn” but this episode was like. Really boring...

Episode 42

  • They’re gonna kill all the digimon that help the chosen children, aren’t they? I’m not as invested in this arc honestly.

  • I’ve suddenly become invested.

Episode 43

  • YOU CAN’T START AN EPISODE BY SHOWING THE GRAVES OF THOSE WHO DIED WHAT THE FUCK!!! THE PUPPET PULLED OUT A 44 MAGNUM I’M.

  • HE GAVE TAKERU A MACHINE GUN I.

Episode 44

  • THIS ONE HAS A POOP BAZOOKA WHAT.

  • I know this is supposed to be serious but WHAT THE HECK.

Episode 45

  • Why do they have to fight each other...? I can’t believe these kids keep falling for these ruses.

Episode 46

  • Why does Etemon have to come back...? Why does he attack with farts. My god. I kinda feel bad for Ogremon.

Episode 47

  • I never expected a kids anime to be so deep tbh.

Episode 48

  • Awhhhh poor Taichi- OH MY GOD THEY FELL TO FUCKING HELL?!

Episode 49

  • No they fell into a subway system which is basically hell.

Episode 50

  • Ahhh we’re gearing up for the final fight.

  • That Angewomon fight... dang. I’m gay.

Episode 51

  • Piemon isn’t really intimidating compared to any of the other villains... but Yamato and Taichi make me so happy.

  • Garurumon nuzzling WarGreymon warmed my cold gay heart.

Episode 52

  • Okay NOW Piemon is intimidating but like not NEARLY as intimidating as the other villains throughout this series.

  • SORA CALLING GOMAMON USELESS MADE ME HURT.

Episode 53

  • Man I feel bad for The true villain “we wanted to live”. Man... this whole “why I love you” thing hurt!! But so cute???

Episode 54

  • ITS ALREADY THE LAST EPISODE WHAT... them all working together makes me so happy honestly.

  • This is the perfect end-of-series fight.

  • We get the title card 7 minutes in wha.

  • The kids were prepared to spend over a hundred years just hangin’ out with their Digimon that’s so cute.

  • OH NO NO IM CRYING

  • TAKERU DONT CRY IM CRYING TOO BOY

  • YAMATO IF YOU CRY

  • NO THE HARMONICA NOOOO

  • VIOLENT SOBBING.

  • LEAVING HER WHISTLE

  • OH MY GOD.

  • THE ONLY ONES WITH HOPES THEY’LL MEET AGAIN ARE THE ONES COMING BACK FOR SEASON TWO.

  • POOR MIMI

  • THE PIANO MUSIC IS KILLING ME.

  • MIMIS HAT

  • NO THIS SONG

  • NOOO THIS HURTS SO BAD

SO Digimon Adventure was a wild ride. Some of the series was absolutely fantastic. The art style might bother some people used to modern anime, but to someone who grew up with the classic 90s style, this is seriously amazing. Everyone’s eyes are slightly different, the color palette is loud, but isn’t too much when it’s contrasted with the watercolor-like backgrounds. The music was done in complete 90s Japanese Pop fashion, which was a ton of fun.

The only thing that bugged me was that you could tell the show was planned to be much more episodic than it became. Everything past episode 21 was amazing, because that was the point the series truly took form and became something magical. There’s no point in comparing it to Pokémon, because it isn’t anything like that. It’s truly stand-alone from the games and toys it came from.

For someone looking for a dose of nostalgia and a fun, entertaining series, please check this series out.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page