top of page

IPSY's June Bag: Worth the Money?


I’ve been a long-time Ipsy subscriber, and was thrilled when I found out this month’s theme revolved around Pride. My box just came in today, and I have a lot of conflicting feelings on it.

This time around, I got a Finding Ferdinand lipstick in “Au Nautrel”, a mineral face scrub by Hey Honey, a MAC Prep + Prime primer, a Kaleido Cosmetics “Soft as Skin” blush, and two Biobelle face masks in the “#Unicornglow” theming”.

The second I took my bag out of the envelope I smelled wet paint. It was a bit concerning, which summed up my feelings on the bag.

I was expecting much more color with my Pride themed bag. The nude lip and soft-pink blush are beautiful, but they don’t have the color-pop that this month’s theming suggested.

The “Soft as Skin” blush is so soft. It’s one of the prettiest blushes I own, I just wish it wasn’t so shimmery. The mirror is great, too, and I love how I can see my whole face through such a tiny mirror. It seems pretty study, despite being just plastic, and I see it being great to throw in my bag at cons.

The MAC primer is a staple in the beauty community, and I’m excited to add it to my collection. And with the facial scrub, I actually realized last night I was running low, so the new travel size was a nice touch.

But not only was the colorful vibe gone, the sizes of this month’s products felt… very small to me. The MAC primer is only 6 mL, the facial scrub only 15 mL. And the lipstick, packaging and all, is smaller than my pinkie finger. I know Ipsy is a “sample” subscription, but in the past I’ve gotten brushes and small eyeshadow palettes, which made it feel full and worth the $10 subscription cost.

I love Biobelle masks, so I’m happy to get another kind to use. IPSY always includes two sheet masks, so it’s more than a “one-use” product, which I appreciate as well.

In all, I wish this bag was much more colorful, and I was bummed out by the sizing. But this month, I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of all of the products in my box, so I guess I can’t complain too much.

But the real question is whether or not this bag was actually worth the $10. I’m not looking at the actual value of the products, but rather, if I’ll get $10 of use out of my bag.

Honestly, I see myself using all of these products. I just feel a little apathetic about the products. They don’t excite me like a lot of other things I’ve received in my IPSY bags before. So it was worth my money, since I’ll use the products, but they aren’t products I would see myself seeking out without IPSY to give them to me.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page